Ironman Steelhead 70.3: That Feeling When You Want More

I have written and re-written this one a couple times because I wasn’t sure which angle to take. Truth be told this result was a little disappointing for me. Which caused me to write one blog version that was a little too Veruca Salt whiny, and another version that was a little too self-deprecating. In the end, it’s you I’m asking to read this, and I didn’t want to waste anyone’s time.

I will be honest that this blog is not quite the find-a-silver-lining or happy-go-lucky race report. This is the side of racing that keeps my head banging against the wall in hopes that one day the wall will finally break down.

Expectations vs reality:

Simply put I was shooting for more of a breakthrough race than I ended up with. A PR by 3 minutes is certainly nothing to be somber about, but I definitely wanted more. Not managing your expectations will get you every single time, but you can also learn some really great lessons. It’s a gamble you have to be willing to take, so in short:

  • I set incorrect goals in that I had no B, or C plan. Just the A-ll in plan.
  • I let my hopes and dreams overshadow reality

Goal setting is an art that requires the right amount of ambition, current situation understanding, and planning. I might have gone a little heavy on the ambition, and a little light on the situational understanding.

With that being the case, the rational side of me realizes:

  • I was only 3 weeks post Ironman Lake Placid.
  • I’ve been traveling.
  • The swim and bike seem to have been slower than normal for lots of people, not just me.

Racing is just the chance we have to showcase what we’re learning and apply it to the day. I actually knew I was overreaching with my goals, but with training going so well lately I thought maybe I could pull a rabbit out of a hat.

Coming off of an Ironman just three weeks ago I found more pockets where I felt great than expected, but the day as a whole was a constant struggle to stay focused and hammering.

My race plan was similar to Lake Placid’s in that I wanted to test the bike. The swim was a little different in that I was racing someone who was a very good swimmer so I would need to limit the deficit coming out of the water for sure.

By the numbers:

  • Swim: 34:04 > T1: 3:15
  • Bike: 2:29:49 > T2: 2:14
  • Run: 1:37:49
  • Total: 4:47:09

Some highlights:

  • The bike to run came together and I had my fastest 70.3 run.
  • I was able to shake off some race adversity and focus on my own day.
  • I worked my ass off for this and improvement is always something to be proud of.
  • I had a mishap free race!

The swim was tough for me mentally. I couldn’t get positioned correctly on the buoy line due to what I believe to be a current. The waves were a little high which obstructed sighting. All in all, it was disorienting and slow. I am partially comforted by the fact that everyone had a slower than normal swim. I just wish I could have used it to my advantage a little in hind sight.

I got out of the water and felt just awful! I proceeded to struggle with my wetsuit, while running the sand hill where my heart rate hit 182 beats per minute. Ouch!

IMG_0254

When I hopped on the bike it took a good 20 min to feel better. My heart rate was really high and I was trying to figure out if food/drink would make it better or worse. Because of the swim start, things opened up on the bike pretty early for me and I rode almost 30 miles virtually alone, legal, and within my own power goals. It was glorious!

IMG_0269

Then around 30 miles in I was swallowed by a draft train. Luckily this is the section of the course that has some rolling hills so I was able to use my riding style to my advantage. However I spent 5-10 miles surging to try and gain my position back only to continue being overtaken by the train.

This group and I eventually caught another train right around mile 37. I put in another surge to get in front of everyone, but again no one backed off. I tried everything I could think of to do. Surge. Sit up and slow down. I even used my words this time.

IMG_0270

When I would sit up, riders were happy to go around me and continue riding the train so it was a while until I found a large enough gap to finally start riding again. I have no idea if Steelhead and Placid are outliers this year, but I’ve had enough of this and will work to be able to handle during a race next time even better.

Yet, my situation was still that I am 3 weeks post Ironman and should stop trying to win this game. Seeing that I was barely going to go sub 2:30 I pretty much knew right then and there that I couldn’t win our age group and had to deal with the disappointing bike as I was shooting for much much faster.

Where’s the competition?:

With the rolling swim start it is difficult to know what place you’re in throughout the day. Much to my surprise I rolled into T2 with the leader in our age group. Having no idea what time deficit I made up on the bike I thought maybe I was a couple minutes ahead at best. We exited T2 together and I stayed with her for ohhhh, about a half mile!

IMG_0262

She is faster than me on the run so I had no delusions that I should stay with her. I got to the top of the first hill and just hoped I had a good run in me to limit the damage she’d do. Unfortunately on my best 70.3 day so far, a 1:37 run for a total of 4:47:09 was all I could do, and she ran a 1:29 for a 4:39:44.

Along the way I also got passed by another fast runner, so I ended the day 3rd in our age group and 5th overall amateur / 20th overall including pro’s.

IMG_0259

When everything goes pretty perfect and it still isn’t enough:

Like I said earlier, it is hard to be down when you best your own record by 3 minutes. I biked the same time I did last year, and this time I was able to run off of it. I didn’t let anything get me down, and refocused myself on my day. Plus I have to admit, watching Heather Jackson lapping you is pretty dope.

So after a couple days, where did I land on this experience? Improvements are certainly something to be proud of. Disappointments are tinder for the fire. I am not going down without a fight.

I have 2 months to continue to get my run back. Learn how to ride my bike better in these situations. Practice my handling in the wind. Hello Hebron! And get this brain ready for a crack at the big island.

Many, many thanks goes to those who keep me prepped, healthy and racing. It was also wonderful to share the course with so many friends racing and spectating. I am really happy I put Steelhead on the calendar again this year!

 

ego-thumbnail

 download

aligned-modern-health-logo

ff_racing_logo-01-process-scx125-t1343406652

Leave a comment