2017 Athlete of the Year (Full Interview)

Hey everybody,

I wanted to take just one more minute to say thanks again for voting for Kyle and I. It is an absolute honor to be in the same company and share this with one of my friends. Even if Ali, the photographer, had to tell us to “pretend as if we like one another” and run closer to each other. :)

M6I0255-1068x744.jpg

There isn’t much more to say except that I am notoriously long winded and enjoy writing, so I decided to share the full interview here. One last thanks goes out to Chicago Athlete Magazine and Clif Bar for your partnership and the opportunity you give local athletes.


1. Tell me how your athletic journey began, and where you are today?

I suppose I’ve always been a multi-sport athlete. I began playing sports at the age of 5 and had achieved various levels of success throughout my career through High School. As an only child, my parents decided that sports would be a good way for me to grow, socialize and learn certain group skills that I wouldn’t get at home.

Karate, gymnastics and that 5th grade cross country meet didn’t last too long as I was more focused on soccer, basketball, and softball. Thankful specialization was not a thing in the 90’s because  I always thought that each sport complimented each other really well and had a positive influence on my development in the others.

Eventually I began running in college as a way to make up for no longer having 2-3 hours of practice a day. I ran my first marathon in 2005 and played club soccer at DePaul through 2007. All the while, intermittent knee pain was slowly developing into a chronic condition. After more than a decade of miss-diagnosis and therapy, I had elective and exploratory knee surgery in August 2008 where the doctor pulled out my Plica (a tendon) and I was running one month later pain free.

I got my second chance to find success through athletic endeavors. I didn’t really know what that would mean at the time so I started where I left off, by running. Spent some years trying to qualify for Boston and eventually burned out and quit. I started cycling that next summer.

Cycling eventually led me to triathlon. Which over four years, slowly crept it’s way up to Ironman.

On paper I am a 3 time Ironman finisher, 1 time Ironman Hawaii finisher, 6 time half Ironman finisher, 3 time Boston Qualifier, 1 time Boston Marathon finisher. There’s a certain magnitude of respect that comes with any second chance. I am just thankful to have the opportunities I do that let me challenge myself every day and compete. Second chances don’t make the 4:45am alarm any easier, but having an outlet for my competitive spirit, finding a huge community of friends, and learning to be a leader in that community is very special to me.

2. Biggest challenge you’ve overcome?

Doubt and insecurities are Mt Kilimanjaro to me. Don’t think, just do is not my strong suit. There’s a great quote from Brett Sutton about Chrissie Wellington, that she’d be even more unstoppable if he could just chop her head off. I’ve always appreciated the technique and repetition of developing a skill set, and the strategy of the game, but it’s a unique situation when you’re trying to develop 3 sports, 1 body and 1 brain.

At any moment I can come up with a million reasons why I feel sub-par. I had to really hone in on why I do that, and develop new skills to use before, during and after training or races to prevent my brain from bringing me down. The practice and development of these techniques never stops, but I have at least climbed the mountain.

M6I0406
3. Favorite part of being a Chicago Athlete?

Connecting with the community is probably the best part. 2017 did not turn out as I would have liked, yet I still get to sit here doing this interview. It has definitely reminded me that this is about more than race results and podium finishes.

I also think it is pretty cool to be the fourth triathlete in a row to win Athlete of the Year. Triathlon is growing and there are opportunities that come along with that for anyone who wants to get into the sport.

4. One piece of advice you have for endurance athletes?

Surround yourself with great people. Look at the athletes at the top and they all have one thing in common, a great the right support team for them.

Endurance training takes time, sacrifice and commitment at any level. I personally am not a huge fan of “finding balance”. I thrive more in structured chaos, and believe that you have to let things go when they no longer fit the plan.

When talking about the hectic lives that endurance athletes lead and how having the right support can make or break any athlete, Jesse Kropelnicki talks about a “stress budget” and to think about what yours is in order to manage all that you’ve committed to, without overextending yourself.

If you spend time to figure out what success might look like for you and unpack your “stress budget”, you can start to build the life and the support that gets you to reach your goals.

5. Anything else you want to add?

If there’s room to piggy back on #4 I’d like to make note of the great people I surround myself with. I have a small-ish family and we are spread around the country pretty far and wide. I also have many friends who have moved away from Chicago over the years.

As we talk about sacrifice a huge thanks has to go to those in my life that I don’t get to see very often. Who continue to give unconditional support and forgiveness when I use my travel days and dollars to race. Who either spend some of theirs to watch me race, or simply refresh the race tracker incessantly and look forward to the next time we meet, whenever that may be.

Leave a comment